Do Betfair Pay First Past The Post?

The Quick Answer

Do Betfair Pay First Past The Post?

Betfair Sportsbook pays out on both the official result and any horse that finishes first past the post but is subsequently disqualified.

Please note, this concession only applies to specified races, so make sure you know which ones before you start counting your winnings.
This rule only applies to the Betfair sportsbook, and not to the Betfair exchange, where horse racing markets are settled only on the official winner.

Betfair’s Double Result Terms & Conditions

Betfair calls its first past the post concession, ‘double resulting’ and you’ll find the terms and conditions listed in Betfair’s horse racing rules as rule 22.5.

To save you heading to the Betfair website, we’ve listed the most important rules below. However, if you are in any doubt, please refer to the official Betfair website.

• Betfair only pays out on the double result in horse races in the UK and Ireland where an industry SP is declared.
• Betfair pays out on the horse that finishes first past the post in races in the UK and Ireland. It also pays out on the official winner if the horse that finishes first past the post is subsequently disqualified.
• As well as win markets, Betfair pays out on double results in markets such as place betting, fallers insurance, without the favourite, insurebet, and combined horses.

Why Did I Not Get Paid Out On My Horse That Finished First Past The Post At Betfair?

If you did not get paid out on a horse that finished first past the post at Betfair, it’s most likely that your selection will have fallen under one of the criteria under which Betfair does not pay out on such horses. Most of these criteria have been put in place by Betfair to stop them falling prey to foul play.

Check why your first past the post selection may not be a winner below.

• Betfair doesn’t pay first past the post on all future horse racing bets.
• Some markets are settled by the rules of horse racing, such as Tote bets.
• All horses found to have carried the wrong weight or to have taken the wrong course will not qualify.
• Betfair doesn’t pay out on void races.
• Any horse that is disqualified before the weigh-in will not qualify.
• All horse races outside the UK and Ireland do not qualify.
• Any selection declared as a winner in error will not qualify.
• In-play markets in horse racing do not qualify.
• Oddsboost markets do not qualify.
• Betfair only pays out on the official winner in the Aintree Grand National.

I Have Not Received My First Past The Post Winnings At Betfair

If you have placed a bet with Betfair and you think you should have received winnings from a horse that finished first past the post but was subsequently disqualified, please double-check the rules above. If you still think you should have been paid out, we suggest you contact the Betfair customer support team.

The Betfair help page has a search engine that you can type any word or phrase in, and it will come up with the best possible answer.

If you do not get the answer you were looking for, we suggest you scroll down to the bottom of the help page and click on the ‘get in touch’ button. To enable the live chat support agents to help you quicker, make sure you’re logged into your account.

Why Does Betfair Exchange Not Pay First Past The Post?

While Betfair is kind enough to pay out on first past the post selections in UK and Irish horse races, it does not extend this concession to the Betfair Exchange. This is because all bets on the Betfair exchange are member vs member bets rather than member vs bookmaker bets. Therefore, the Betfair Exchange only pays out on the official result.

Should I Bet With Betfair?

Betfair is one of the most popular places to bet for many punters, as it offers you the best of both worlds with both a betting exchange and a sportsbook. You’ll also be able to take advantage of many promotions and an excellent choice of sports, markets, and odds. For those reasons, in our humble opinion, all serious punters should have a Betfair account.

What you’ll need to decide is whether you should place your bets on the Betfair exchange or the Betfair Sportsbook. The Betfair exchange offers typically better odds on more selections than the sportsbook, but the sportsbook has more concessions, including paying out on first past the post on UK and Irish horse racing.
We hope that’s answered your question, does Betfair pay first past the post. Happy punting!

Please note, all concessions at Betfair mentioned in this article have additional terms and conditions and may be subject to change.


1 thought on “Do Betfair Pay First Past The Post?”

Leave a comment

Free Betting Tips, Direct to Your Inbox

Sign Up Today to Join Betting Gods for FREE and Receive Betting Tips Direct to Your Inbox Every Morning