Who Will Win The Arlington Million?

Arlington Million (USA) is a Grade I stakes race for thoroughbred horses held annually at Arlington Park in Arlington Heights, Illinois. The event was established in 1981 and is named for its original purse of US$1 million, then the richest turf race in North America. It is now part of the Breeders’ Cup Challenge series, and its purse was increased to $2 million in 2014. The winner is automatically qualified for the Breeders’ Cup Turf because it is a part of the Breeders’ Cup Challenge circuit. The Arlington Million is contested on weight for age basis at a distance of 1⅛ miles (9 furlongs) on a left-handed turf and is open to horses aged three years old or older.

Father of TVG’s Mike Joyce, Joe Joyce, also president of Arlington Park at that time, created the Arlington Million in 1981. The Arlington Million Trophy and 60% of the $1 million prize pool go to the winner. Based on the competitors’ skill in the race’s first two years, it was evaluated after only its 2nd running and given grade one classification in 1983.

Some of the most accomplished thoroughbreds have won the Arlington Million in history, including multiple Grade I winners, The Tin Man, Da Hoss, Lure, and High Chaparral. In 2002, the Arlington Million was run in two divisions due to a large entry field. The Argentine-bred horselle Estimate won the first division, and the second division was won by the French-bred filly Vereva.

The most recent winner of the Arlington Million is the horse Two Emmys, which won the race in 2021 by covering the distance in 2:03.34. Two Emmys is owned by Hugh Robertson & Wolfe Racing, run by jockey James Graham and trainer Hugh Robertson.

The Arlington Million will be held in 2022, according to Churchill Downs, whose parent business owns the property where the abandoned Arlington Park racetrack once stood. The race will be raced as part of a unique one-day schedule in August, together with its customary supporting races like the Beverly D. and Secretariat.

There are many contenders for the Arlington Million in 2022. Some notable horses may include:
Strong Tide is a 4-year-old colt who has won 3 out of his 5 starts. Michael Lauer trains this Indiana-bred horse.

Two Emmys

The 2021 Arlington Million winner will be looking to defend his title in 2022. Hugh Robertson trains the 5-year-old gelding.

Domestic Spending

A 4-year-old colt who has won 5 out of his 8 starts. It is trained by Chad Brown and has become the top turf runner in North America after taking home two Grade 1 stakes victories in each of his two 2021 races.

Space Traveller

Trained by Brendan Walsh, Space Traveller is a 4-year-old colt who has won 5 out of his 8 starts. He competed in mile Group 1 races internationally and lost the TVG Breeders’ Cup Mile in 2019 by just five lengths.

Bizzee Channel

A local gelding trained by Larry Rivelli, who has four victories in five tries on this grass track and previously won the Arlington Stakes by a neck.

These are some of the contenders for the Arlington Million in 2022, but many others could emerge as potential winners in the months leading up to the race. Only time will tell who the ultimate winner will be.

What is awarded to the Arlington Million winner?

A significant portion of the event’s appeal is the $1 million prize pool. The prize pool is divided so that the winner gets 60% of it, guaranteeing a payout of $600,000. The winner will also receive the Arlington Million trophy in addition to the monetary prize.

This bowl-shaped award has a 30-inch circumference and a height of 24 inches. The award’s base is entirely composed of silver and has eight Greek columns on it. The winning trainer and jockey also receive trophies, while the winning owner is given a replica trophy to retain. The winning horse is covered with an eye-catching carpet of white and red carnations.

What is the Arlington Million’s fastest time?

Eddie Maple’s Awad had the quickest time in 1985, clocking it at 1:58.69. The second-fastest race ever was won by Perrault in 1982’s second running, which he completed in 1:58.80.

What is the Arlington Million’s longest winning distance?

Fernando Toro’s Estrapade won the race by a commanding 5 lengths in 1986. With a quarter of a mile remaining, the Kentucky-bred horse assumed the lead and put on a commanding front-running display, dislodging the field in the home stretch.

What is the value of the Arlington Racetrack?

Arlington Park Racecourse, a 326-acre land in Arlington Heights, Illinois, will be sold by Churchill Downs Incorporated to the Chicago Bears of the National Football League for $197.2 million.

Who are the Arlington Million’s youngest and oldest winners?

In 1983, Tolomeo won at age 3, the youngest winner. The other extreme was shown the following year, when John Henry, who was nine years old, won.

Free Betting Tips, Direct to Your Inbox

Sign Up Today to Join Betting Gods for FREE and Receive Betting Tips Direct to Your Inbox Every Morning