A Guide To The Pro Kabbadi League

The Pro Kabaddi League is a professional kabaddi league for men in India. The idea behind the formation of the league was to leverage the popularity of kabaddi in the country’s various communities, even the rural areas. 

This article comprises a brief insight into the Pro Kabaddi League’s formation and format.

Pro Kabaddi League Background

The Pro Kabaddi league was established in 2014 based on the franchise-based format of the Indian Premier League, the top men’s cricket league in India. The inspiration for the idea came from the popularity of kabaddi in the Asian Games held in 2006.

Initially, the league was launched with eight teams. The duration of the league’s first season was 26th July 2014 to 31st August 2014, and it comprised 56 games in the first round and four games in the playoff round. The season was based on a double round-robin format with two semi-final matches, a match for third place, and the final.

In season 3 of the Pro Kabaddi League in 2016, it was announced that the Pro Kabaddi league would have two sessions in a year, five weeks per session. The first session was to be held in January-February, and the second session was to be held in June-July. Till the fourth season, held in June 2016, the Pro Kabaddi League had eight teams that had been a part of the league from the beginning.

 In 2107 four more teams were added to the league before the commencement of the fifth season, which started in July. Auctions were held for the teams in May, and each existing team was allowed to retain one existing player. 

Adding more teams led to the segregation of the league into two divisions called zones. In the following year, the double-round robin layout was revived. It comprises a playoff round after the regular season games. Two semi-final matches are held, followed by a match for third place and the final match.

The eighth season of the Pro Kabaddi League commenced in December 2021. Instead of a roving caravan, the format was altered, and a single venue was set for hosting all the event matches.

How many teams are in vivo Pro Kabaddi?

The Pro Kabaddi league, known as Vivo Pro Kabaddi League for sponsorship purposes, currently has 12 teams. These include the Bengal Warriors, Bengaluru Bulls, Dabang Delhi, Gujarat Giants, Haryana Steelers, Jaipur Pink Panthers, Patna Pirates, Puneri Paltans, Tamil Thalaivas, Telugu Titans, U Mumbai, and UP Yoddhas.

While eight teams were originally added to the league, the four new teams added in 2017 included UP Yoddhas, Haryana Steelers, Tamil Thalaivas, and Gujarat Giants.

Who is No 1 in Kabaddi?

The current champion of the Pro Kabaddi League is Dabang Delhi, the team that won the eighth season held in December 2021. The Patna Pirates were the runners-up in that season. The Dabang Delhi was the runners-up in the earlier season.

However, the Patna Pirates hold the record for the most wins in the league, as they have won the championship thrice in the third, fourth, and fifth seasons. They are also the only team to have defended their title.

How many seasons of PKL? 

The Pro Kabaddi league has had eight seasons so far. The first season was held in July 2014, and the eighth season was held in December 2021. Due to the pandemic, the PKL event was not held in 2020. 

Who is the founder of kabaddi?

The Pro Kabaddi League was founded in 2014 by Charu Sharma. He was accompanied by Anand Mahindra, who founded Mashal Sports in 1994, the organising company of the Pro Kabaddi League.

The founders were influenced by the popularity of the Kabaddi tournament held at the Asian Games in 2006. The event was based on an indoor version of the game, which is usually played on a court.

The idea behind the league was to present kabaddi to the masses in a package that would appeal to the audience more and, as a result, the viewership for the sport as well.

Who is the richest player in Pro Kabaddi?

The richest player in Pro Kabaddi League is Pawan Kumar Sehrawat. The player is part of the Tamil Thalaivas and plays for the Indian Railways in national Kabaddi events. Pawan Kumar is the most expensive player in the history of the PKL, as the Tamil Thalaivas acquired him for their squad for INR 2.26 crores.

The player started his career in PKL with Bengaluru Bulls in 2016. He joined the Gujarat Giants a year later. He again became part of the Bengaluru Bulls in 2018 and remained in the squad till 2021. In 2022, he was acquired by Tamil Thalaivas. The player holds the record for the most raid points by any player in a PKL final and the most points by a player in a single half of the PKL match. He was also the MVP in 2018.

1 thought on “A Guide To The Pro Kabbadi League”

Leave a comment

Free Betting Tips, Direct to Your Inbox

Sign Up Today to Join Betting Gods for FREE and Receive Betting Tips Direct to Your Inbox Every Morning